Moses

Standard

“Who am I, that I should go to Pharaoh, and that I should bring the sons of Israel our of Egypt? And He said, “Certainly I will be with you, and this shall be a sign to you that it is I who have sent you: when you have brought the people out of Egypt, you shall worship God at this mountain.” Exodus 3: 11-12

” I AM WHO I AM, thus you shall say to the sons of Israel, “I AM has sent me to you”.  Exodus 3:14

” Then Moses said to the LORD, “Please, Lord, I have never been eloquent, neither recently nor in time past, nor since You have spoken to Your servant; for I am slow of speech and slow of tongue.” The LORD said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Or who makes him mute or deaf, or seeing or blind? Is it not I, the LORD? “Now then go, and I, even I, will be with your mouth, and teach you what you are to say.” Exodus 4: 10-12

“But Moses spoke before the LORD, saying, “Behold, the sons of Israel have not listened to me; how then will Pharaoh listen to me, for I am unskilled in speech?” Then the LORD spoke to Moses and to Aaron, and gave them a charge to the sons of Israel and to Pharaoh king of Egypt, to bring the sons of Israel out of the land of Egypt. ” Exodus 6: 11-12

” Behold, I am unskilled in speech; how then will Pharaoh listen to me?” 6: 30

Moses killed an Egyptian. Moses Ran away.  God called Moses to lead His people out of Egypt, and Moses tried to bow out. Not once, twice…at least 3 times that we know of.  Moses didn’t obey Gods commandment to circumcise his children and God almost killed him, but choose to save him because his wife circumcised his son. (Gen 4) Moses was anything but impressive.  

“Furthermore, the man Moses himself was greatly esteemed in the land of Egypt, both in the sight of Pharaoh’s servants and in the sight of the people” Exodus 11:3

“By faith Moses, when he was born, was hidden for three months by his parents, because they saw he was a beautiful child; and they were not afraid of the king’s edict. By faith Moses, when he had grown up, refused to be called the son of Pharaoh’s daughter,choosing rather to endure ill-treatment with the people of God than to enjoy the passing pleasures of sin, considering the reproach of Christ greater riches than the treasures of Egypt; for he was looking to the reward. By faith he left Egypt, not fearing the wrath of the king; for he endured, as seeing Him who is unseen. By faith he kept the Passover and the sprinkling of the blood, so that he who destroyed the firstborn would not touch them. By faith they passed through the Red Sea as though they were passing through dry land; and the Egyptians, when they attempted it, were drowned.” Hebrews 11: 23-29

But Moses isn’t remembered by his humble beginnings or his failures.  He is remembered as faithful, greatly esteemed.

Why though? A murderer, a failure, a wimp…no God saw “The blood of the Passover Lamb” This was applied to the doorpost of Moses home and his heart.  No power of darkness from the outside or the inside could ever withstand the power of this blood sacrifice.  Despite the accusations Satan spoke into his life…His heart was hidden in the blood of the Passover Lamb …Christ our Passover Lamb (1 Cor. 5:7)

” I will deliver you from their bondage. I will also redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great judgments. ‘Then I will take you for My people, and I will be your God; and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.” Exodus 6: 6-7

Praise God that His blood covers all of our inadequacies and all of our failures.

 

Leave a Reply

